How your dominant ayurveda dosha: Vatta, Pitta, or Kapha defines YOU

Updated: Aug 7, 2019

According to 5000 year old health science of Ayurveda, human body comprises of 3 fundamental doshas or bio-energies that are derived from 5 basic elements (Earth, Ether, Air, Fire & Water). Even though each human being has all three 3 fundamental energies, there is always one dominant energy that reflects an individual’s overall mind-body makeup.

“Understanding your mind-body constitution and building a lifestyle around it that supports your unique nature is the mantra for a joyful life” – Deepak Chopra

The 3 fundamental Bio-energies with dominant energy traits are explained below. Read carefully and find-out which dominant energy defines you:

Vatta Dosha (air element + ether element): Energy that controls mind & body

In Sanskrit “Vatta” means air. Air is light, cool, dry and mobile.

  • Dominant Vatta Personality Traits: Individuals with dominant Vatta dosha have air like qualities, i.e. they are light weight, have thin bone density, dry skin and hair, and move and speak quickly.

  • Balanced Vatta Personality: Individuals with balanced Vatta dosha are very creative. They are also talkative, energetic, enthusiastic and generally have flexible bodies.

  • Imbalanced Vatta Personality: Individuals with imbalanced Vatta dosha may lose weight, have difficulty in making decisions, become easily overwhelmed, develop rough skin and experience trouble while sleeping. Such people also feel challenged by cool emotions such as fear, anxiety, and worry.

Pitta Dosha (fire element + water element): Energy that governs metabolic activities

In Sanskrit, “Pitta” translates to “heat” or “fire”. Fire is hot, sharp, penetrating and somewhat volatile and oily due to presence of water element.

  • Dominant Pitta Personality Traits: Individuals with dominant and balanced Pitta dosha have sharp features, moderate weight, and somewhat oily skin.

  • Balanced Pitta Personality: Balanced pitta personalities have the energy to transform lives. They are competitive, focused, courageous, energetic and efficient communicators. They have a warm and welcoming nature and make great friends or feared enemies.

  • Imbalanced Pitta Personality: With imbalanced pitta dosha such individuals can become overly intense, sarcastic or critical and experience diarrhea, infections, skin rashes, & weakness in liver and spleen. They are challenged by heated emotions such as anger, resentment and jealousy.

Kapha Dosha (Water Element + Earth Element): Energy that governs structural vitality and imparts vital strength

In Sanskrit, “Kapha” translates to “that which holds things together” and is characterized by fluidity, strength and nourishment.

  • Dominant Kapha Personality Traits: Individuals with dominant and balanced Kapha dosha have dense bones, supple skin, large stocky frame and low metabolism.

  • Balanced Kapha Personalities: Kapha personalities tend to take their time to make decisions. They can handle stress very well and excel in jobs that require logical analysis. They are also resistant to change and like things as they are and generally seek comfort.

  • Imbalanced Kapha Personalities: When Kapha dosha is out of balance, such individuals gain weight, have sleep issues, experience weakness in lungs and sinuses and become most prone to non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus (NIDDM) or juvenile diabetes. They are challenged by heavy emotions such as depression.

In my upcoming articles, I will be going into more details about each personality type, related health issues, how to overcome them by building an ayurvedic lifestyle and lead a joyful and happy life.

So what is your dominant energy/dosha? let me know in the comments section.

Don't forget to Subscribe below to get VALUABLE Ayurveda related information delivered in your inbox for FREE.

Cheers to good health !!!

Dipen Raj Garg

About the author:

Dipen Raj Garg is co-founder of Himalayan Wellness Retreats and head of business development in North and South America. He is a strong believer and supporter of authentic Ayurveda practices and he can be contacted via Linkedin or e-mail:

Recommended Read:

Understanding your body through Ayurveda - 5 Elements & 3 Energies

Note: The information in this article is intended for your educational use only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health providers with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition and before undertaking any diet, supplement, fitness, or other health program.

2,245 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest



Toronto,CA : +1 416-666-8472

London, UK : +44 785-903-6888



AVS Punarnava Ayurveda

Vrindavan village thana EPIP Phase 2

Baddi, Himachal Pradesh, India - 173205

©2023 by Himalayan Wellness Retreats