Understanding your body through Ayurveda - 5 Elements & 3 Energies

Updated: Aug 7, 2019

Ayurveda “the science of longevity” is about 5000 years old holistic healing system with its roots in India and is regarded as the oldest healing system in the world. Ayurveda is based on the belief that health and wellness depends on a harmonious balance between mind, body and spirit. To understand how we can benefit from the ancient wisdom and knowledge of Ayurveda, we need to understand what constitutes our body.

According to Ayurveda, our body comprises of 5 Basic elements:

  1. Ether

  2. Air

  3. Fire

  4. Water

  5. Earth

These 5 elements determine three fundamental energies that drives our existence. Energy is also known as dosha in Sanskrit and all three fundamental energies are grouped together by one single Sanskrit term – Tridosha

The three fundamental energies are:

  1. Vatta dosha: energy that drives our nervous system,

  2. Pitta dosha: energy that drives our metabolic system and

  3. Kapha dosha: energy that drives our nutritive system.

How does these three energies affect our health ?

All three doshas are essential for our existence. A harmonic balance between the three energies results in a healthy mind & body and longevity and an imbalance results in manifestation of various diseases. Ayurveda aims to promote health and wellbeing through identification and restoration of the original state of equilibrium between the doshas (energies) in our body. Once the root cause i.e. the imbalance is detected and corrected, our body regains its strength, all functions are restored to normal, and all diseases or ailments fade away. Identification of imbalances is done through a clinical evaluation by an Ayurvedic physician who then puts together a plan that uses a combination of ayurvedic therapies, ayurvedic food, herbal medications, yoga & meditation to correct imbalances and promote one's health and well-being.

Like what you read ? Subscribe (at the bottom of the page) to get future articles and free Ayurveda lifestyle tips delivered right in your Inbox.

About the author:

Dipen Raj Garg is co-founder of Himalayan Wellness Retreats and head of business development in North and South America. He is a strong believer and supporter of authentic Ayurveda practices and he can be contacted via Linkedin or e-mail:

Note: The information in this article is intended for your educational use only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health providers with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition and before undertaking any diet, supplement, fitness, or other health program

218 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest



Toronto,CA : +1 416-666-8472

London, UK : +44 785-903-6888



AVS Punarnava Ayurveda

Vrindavan village thana EPIP Phase 2

Baddi, Himachal Pradesh, India - 173205

©2023 by Himalayan Wellness Retreats